Fairfield, Hocking, Pickaway Ross counties, Ohio

State trustee District 15 news

Happy holidays. I’m Mike Videkovich, District 15 trustee, and Jenny Cox is your regional trustee.

Ohio Farm Bureau has prepared this summary of some of the topics covered during the December board meeting and Ohio Farm Bureau annual meeting. It is our privilege to represent you on the board. If you have any questions or comments, please send them to Jenny or to me.

The annual meeting and member celebration took place Dec. 7-11 and for the first time, it was conducted remotely. A series of videos was produced to honor volunteers, county Farm Bureaus and those who earned recognition for their career accomplishments on behalf of the industry. Here is a recap of those events as well as a recap of the policy discussion.

Leader remarks
The annual meeting is a chance to hear from President Frank Burkett and Executive Vice President Adam Sharp. Both shared 2020 highlights as well as organizational challenges and opportunities. Their speeches, in addition to video highlights from the annual meeting, can be viewed on YouTube. Nationwide Chief Executive Officer Kirt Walker also appeared in a special video message.

Board guests and honorees
Nationwide guests at the board meeting included board member Brent Porteus and Devin Fuhrman, vice president, Sponsor Relations.

This year’s annual meeting honorees were former Ohio Farm Bureau board member and retired Nationwide Board Chairman Tim Corcoran and former Vice President Public Policy Yvonne Lesicko who both received the Distinguished Service Award. Becky Cropper was presented the Cooperative/Agriculture Educator Award.

Board elections
The board welcomed new board member Matt Aultman who will serve as District 14 trustee representing Champaign, Clark, Darke and Miami counties.

Here is a summary of all board and officer elections.

American Farm Bureau convention opportunity
The 2021 American Farm Bureau Virtual Convention will be held Jan. 10-13, 2021. Registration fees have been waived for all attendees. Featured speakers include Mike Rowe, host of Dirty Jobs; former Navy SEALs commander Rorke Denver and Land O’Lakes CEO Beth Ford. Other top-notch speakers will deliver updates on the latest national ag issues and presentation topics including agricultural advocacy, farm employee safety and connecting with consumers in a post-COVID world, as well as the latest economic outlook and sustainability efforts. Presentations will be a mix of live and on-demand content.


Note: Anyone who wants to observe the policy session must register through Amanda Bush at Ohio Farm Bureau by Dec. 18.